Category: "State Laws"

Planning Ahead for Local and State Minimum Wage Increases

28 May, 2019

Managing payroll is already complex, and when you factor in the ever-changing regulations, it can be downright challenging. One of the changes your business may be facing in 2019 is a local or state minimum wage increase. This year, 21 states and a number of local jurisdictions have increased their...

State Minimum Wage, Paid Sick Leave, and Tax Changes to Expect in 2019

08 January, 2019

As we head into 2019, more states and localities have announced changes to their minimum wage rates. Here’s a rundown of the latest developments. States: Alaska: $9.89 (from $9.84), effective Jan. 1, 2019. Arkansas: $9.25 (from $8.50), effective Jan. 1, 2019. The minimum wage will increas...

Changes for 2019 in State Minimum Wage Rates

06 November, 2018

As usual, the new year will usher in a multitude of changes in state and municipal minimum wage laws. Let's take a look at some of the reasons why payroll professionals need to be aware of the changes. Montana, New Jersey, Ohio, South Dakota, and Vermont will all raise minimum wages on January...

New Local Tax Laws Add to a Patchwork of Complications

05 September, 2018

In July 2018, New Jersey became the latest state to pass legislation allowing cities to impose payroll taxes on employers, joining 15 other states that allow local taxing. The New Jersey bill allows municipalities with more than 200,000 residents to impose employer payroll taxes of up to 1 percent...

Massachusetts Is the Latest State to Raise Minimum Wage to $15, Enacts Paid Family Leave

08 August, 2018

Over the next five years, Massachusetts will incrementally increase its minimum hourly wage from $11 to $15. Legislation signed by Governor Charlie Baker (R) will increase the minimum wage by 75 cents on Jan. 1 of each year from 2019 to 2023. Beginning in 2019, the minimum wage will increase to $12...